Tags

, , , ,

I’ve been browsing the JustFab website off and on for awhile now without making a purchase.  I wasn’t really sure about ordering a brand of shoe online that I hadn’t tried before because of not be being familiar with the fit and comfort level.  I’ve been seeing everyone rocking these shoes lately though and when I got a promotional email telling me I could get my first pair free, I decided to give it a try.

How JustFab works is, you sign up by taking a style quiz so their personal shoppers can select styles for you each month.  You can also browse/purchase any of the other styles that were not selected for you, so you’re not restricted to a specific selection.  All shoes are $39.95, and some go on sale for a lower price as well.  Shipping is free.  If you don’t want to purchase anything for a specific month, you can go to their website between the first and fifth and select the option to skip.  You can do this for as many months as you want with no obligation to spend anything.  If you don’t go to the site and skip the month and you don’t purchase anything, you get charged the $39.95 anyway, but you get to use it as a credit for a pair of shoes in the future.  Returns are free if you purchase a pair that doesn’t fit.  You can cancel at any time.  You also earn points on every purchase that you can redeem for goodies.

I was initially hesitant to purchase here because shoe quality is very important to me.  So here’s a little rant…I would much rather have one pair of really great quality, comfortable shoes than ten pairs that aren’t comfortable.  JustFab shoes are not real leather, which is a big no go for me for the following reasons: 1. Faux leather does not stretch, real leather does.  Real leather will conform to your feet as you wear it and it becomes more comfortable the longer you wear it.  2. Real leather can be cleaned, repaired, waterproofed, thus lasting exponentially longer than faux leather.  3.  Faux leather does not breathe, thus creating a damp, hot environment for feet.  4. Faux leather seams are not smooth and don’t soften with the natural oils from your skin like real leather does, thus creating blisters.  Although I try to refrain from purchasing products made from animals, all shoes, including those made from faux leather are made with animal products, so there really isn’t much difference when it comes to footwear. 

Anyway, I chose the Electra pumps from the freebie selections.  There were probably around 50 styles to choose from, which impressed me.  I expected to be forced to choose from 5 or so and thought they would probably be sold out in my size.  It seemed that all the styles I looked at were in stock in size 7, which is usually always the first to go, so I was very happy with that.  Shipping was quick, it took just a few days and they arrived in a brown box with the actual shoe box inside.  There was a sample of Suave shampoo, conditioner and styling cream included as well.

photo 1 (5) photo 2 (5)

They were packaged so nicely and I liked that they clearly had not been opened or tried on by anyone else as shoes often are at department stores.  The box was very sturdy too.

photo 3 (4)

They are faux black suede with a faux leather gold toe and a tan strip of fabric across the front.  I had been looking for a pair of shoes with a contrasting toe for awhile so I was happy to add these to my collection.  I do wear heels on a daily basis, so I am used to walking in them and I will say, these were a little difficult at first.  The bottoms were very slippery, so I took them outside and rubbed the bottoms on gravel to rough up the soles to give me some traction.  It helped a lot on the ball area but the heel part is still very slippery and I really have to be careful to make sure I step squarely every time.  They also gap a little bit on the inside near the arch but it’s not noticeable.  I did stick heel guards on the inside of the heel before I even tried these on so they wouldn’t rub.  Although I do feel they are slightly unstable, I believe that is just how this style of shoe is made and it wouldn’t deter me from ordering other styles.  The general comfort is better than expected, I’d say a 3.8 out of 5.  I’d like to try a t-strap platform next and see how that fits me.  And since returns and shipping are free there’s really no risk to ordering from here.  Obviously I’m not going to return free shoes, so I’m keeping these even though they aren’t a perfect fit for me.

I do plan on purchasing from JustFab again, but don’t plan on doing it on a monthly basis the way the membership encourages.  Overall, the quality was a little better than I expected and I wouldn’t mind adding a few more pairs to my collection.  I did notice they offer a Luxe collection of items made from real leather for $49 each so that seems like it might be the way to go for me. 

photo 4 (2)

My outfit today is all random pieces from TJ Maxx and my belt is from Forever 21.

