Tags

, , , , ,

If you’ve read any of my previous posts on the brand Tokyo Milk, you may know that I am obsessed with some of their products and hate others.  This tends to be the trend for me when it comes to fragrances, as companies try to make products for everyone, and fragrance is a matter of very personal, specific taste.  Dead Sexy is my favorite fragrance from Tokyo Milk, but there are also five more that look very interesting to me.  Their return policy just says to contact customer service in the event of a return, which I did, asking for a more specific explanation of the return policy and if samples were available.  They basically replied and told me to contact them if for some reason I needed to return something and that samples are not offered.  Ok, so no help.  Thanks.  The freebie samples I get with my orders are never anything I want so I decided to go on the hunt for some type of samples for these five fragrances I was interested in. 

Enter Surrender to Chance.  This company offers thousands of perfumes that they decant into smaller sample sizes and sell at a fraction of the price of a full bottle.  Most samples are around $3, depending on the purchase price of a full size bottle.  And yes, they’re legit.  The fragrances are not reproductions, they are the actual product. 

This company offers a ton of impossible fragrance finds.  Discontinued, rare items that are no longer available can be found here and are offered until they’re all gone.  They have options to search perfumes by recent releases, celebrity favorites, sample sets, curated collections, notes, etc.  For example, I looked over the section for notes and chose “almond”.  I was then given a list of all the perfumes offered with almond fragrance in them.  I found several items using the “notes” section that had interesting descriptions that I ended up purchasing or wishlisting for later. 

Weekly specials are also offered and if you sign up for emails, you’ll get discount codes.  This gave me the perfect opportunity to try the five Tokyo Milk fragrances (they came in a set and I could pick any fragrances from that brand) at a cost of $13.99, rather than the $30 per bottle price on the brand website.  Not to mention, I can now try all sorts of new perfumes if I am unable to find samples elsewhere for free.

This is what I got:

Tokyo Milk Five Fragrance Set in Age of Aquarius, Sugar Sugar, Eden, Marine Sel, I Want Candy

Guerlain Terracotta Voile d’Ete (saw this in Lucky magazine years ago and forgot I wanted to try it!)

Serge Lutens Jeux de Peau (found this when browsing and the description looks delectable)

Guerlain Les Voyages Olfactifs-New York (another found while browsing)

Laura Mercier Crème de Pistache (wanted to try based on YouTube review)

Nest Fragrances-Set of Five in Amazon Lilly, Dahlia & Vines, Passiflora, Midnight Fleur, White Sandalwood (another YouTube review)

I chose the smallest of the sizes for each, with plans to purchase full sizes of the items I really like.  I’ve also found several more samples I’d like to try, which I’ve added to my wishlist on the site for future purchase.  Shipping was less than $3 and I had a welcome code for 10% off, so all those samples, 14 in all were under $40.  That’s less than the price of one higher end bottle and I’ll get as many uses out of these as a full bottle would offer.  For me, this is a great deal so I don’t get stuck wasting money on fragrances I don’t like and I also don’t have to go through the hassle of dealing with customer service and shipping something back that I don’t like.  I feel guilty doing that anyway.  If there’s nothing wrong with the product and it simply isn’t my taste, that’s not the company at fault.

I will let you know how I feel about each of the fragrances once I’ve had the opportunity to try each of them a few times.  For now, check out their website!

You might also like:

Tokyo Milk Shea Butter Lotion in Dead Sexy

