Tags

, , ,

KohGenDoThe Koh Gen Do Maifanshi Moisture Foundation is a liquid HD mineral foundation with two types of light reflecting powders to diffuse lines, pores and uneven surfaces.  It is supposed to be long wearing and non-drying.

I saw this on HauteLook for half off and was unfamiliar with the brand so I did some checking and found that their website claims to test in vitro rather than on animals and this brand also appears on the MyBeautyBunny safe list, so I took the plunge.  It comes in twelve shades, most of which are for pink, fair skin, but I chose shade 112 which is described as a natural light ochre for yellow tones.  Now, my skin is neutral but if I have to choose pink or yellow, it’s always going to be yellow.

As you can see, it comes in a tube.  The little hole in the end of the tube is super tiny, which I love.  It makes it easy to get the right amount of product out without over squeezing and wasting it.  The color is perfect for me now, but will not carry me into summer.  The first day I tried this with my flat foundation brush (Lancome or Estee Lauder, they’re interchangeable for me) and it was ok.  It was just mediocre which made me happy I didn’t try this at full price.  The next day I tried it with my flat kabuki (Sigma F80) and it was a completely different product.  The coverage is so buildable, you can take it from medium to full in no time and the finish is completely flawless. It’s very close to being matte, but not quite.  It’s matte-natural I suppose.  This lasted through an entire day of getting my hair done, lunch, shopping, dinner, shopping, in and out of many places and no touch ups needed.  I didn’t even feel it on my face and it looked like I was wearing no makeup yet was completely flawless.  I literally love this stuff!

The trick to using this is treating it as a full coverage foundation and applying it as such.  You need to build this up to really see its full potential.  I have used it for several days in a row and have had no skin issues arise from using it.  Although the price tag is rather hefty, I do see myself purchasing this in a darker shade for summer.  I don’t often find full coverage foundations I like at all let alone ones that look this good all day and feel amazing.  It’s definitely at the top of the list as far as quality is concerned and I’m hoping to see it on HauteLook again so I can stock up.

Pros: Buildable Coverage, Many Shades for Light Skin Tones, Useful Packaging, Long-Lasting, Flawless Finish

Cons: Small Selection for Darker Skin, High End Price Tag

Cost: $62 for .71 oz.

Available at: Sephora, Koh Gen Do

You might also like:

Becca Radiant Skin Satin Finish Foundation Review

Josie Maran Argan Matchmaker Serum Foundation Review

Urban Decay Naked Skin Foundation Review

