Tags

, , , , , , ,

Skylark PaletteSkylark Cosmetics is a line developed by Elle and Blair Fowler (sisters), known for their Youtube beauty guru videos.  I am fans of both of their channels and purchased this palette to support their cosmetics line, never mind the pretty colors in the palette.  If I had seen this advertised and didn’t know of Elle and Blair, I probably still would have purchased it.

This palette comes with six shadows and one highlighter.  They are all very large with the shadows at .07 oz. each and the highlighter at .2 oz.  This is one of my favorite basic neutral palettes because it has a range of brown shimmer shades and one matte vanilla shade, plus a cranberry and a dark blue shimmer shade.  I take it on most short travel trips because I can get just about any look I want with this palette.  The shadows are super smooth and creamy and easy to apply.  They last all day for me (I use a MAC Paint Pot daily under all my shadows) and there is absolutely no fall out.  The colors are very rich and highly pigmented.  The shades Nutmeg and Pinecone are almost identical, but that is one of my favorite colors of brown shadow, so I use that color more often than the others and don’t mind having a bit more of it.

The highlighter is such an amazingly perfect shade, I would purchase this alone if I could.  I have not used any other highlighter since I got this one.  It is a bit glimmery and the perfect shade to highlight without making those areas too light but you don’t need much of it and it is easy to over-apply so start out with a light hand.  This also lasts all day.

I honestly didn’t expect such great quality from this, as it is currently the only makeup product other than lip gloss that Skylark offers (and it came out about a year ago!) but I would definitely repurchase this item.  It is a great gift item for people new to makeup or for travelers as well because it contains all the essential eye colors along with two brighter shades to vamp it up a bit if needed, plus the gorgeous highlighter.  I am really hoping that more Skylark products emerge soon.  They are exclusively sold at Blush.com.

Pros: Creamy, Smooth, No Fall Out, Blendable, Highly Pigmented, Long Lasting

Cons: Some may not like that two of the shades are very similar, but I don’t mind it with that specific color.

Cost: $40

Available at: Blush

You might also like:

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Book for Fall 2013

Sigma Creme de Couture Shadow Palette Review

New MAC Paint Pot in Camel Coat Review

