Tags

, , ,

Living Proof SatinThis product claims to control friziness while providing damaged hair with smoothness, shine and manageability and cutting styling time in half without using oils or silicones.  First, I’m not sure why oil free is a good thing when it comes to hair care.  I love oils for my hair, they penetrate the hair shaft to condition and strengthen while making my hair shiny.  Oils actually make my hair healthier rather than just making it LOOK healthy.  Feel free to enlighten me in the comments below if you prefer oil free styling products…

I followed the instructions on the package and used this on my damp hair.  Following my normal routine, I let my hair dry overnight and brushed/styled in the am.  First of all, brushing through in the am went great.  There were no tangles and my brush ran smoothly without snagging anywhere.  I did not expect this, as the texture of my hair was somewhat sticky and tacky.  I thought it was going to be a mess to get through.  The texture completely contradicts the manageability.  I had used this in place of my treatment oil the night before and thought my hair was more frizzy than normal rather than less as the product promised.  I was hoping the stickiness would go away with heat products after styling, but it didn’t.  It remained sticky all day and I couldn’t wait to get home to wash it out. 

I checked the ingredients and there is nothing I could pronounce listed there, not even water.  I have no idea what this stuff is made up of and there isn’t much info on the Living Proof website either.  I did not notice that my styling time was cut, but my hair is not unruly so I didn’t expect much change there.  I also did not notice any lasting beneficial results from this product.  I definitely do not plan to use this a second time.

Pros: Great at Detangling

Cons: Sticky, Tacky, Contains a lot of Chemicals, No Long Term Benefits

Cost: $29 for 1.5 oz.

Available at: Sephora, Ulta, QVC

Other posts you might like:

The Long Awaited Hair Oil Comparison

