Tags

, , , , , , ,

DSC00051As promised, this post is to review the products I received about two weeks ago in my Ipsy Glam Bag.  As always, the products I was really excited about were a let-down and those that looked mediocre were the stars.

I haven’t tried the Skynn Iceland Hydro Cool Firming Gels yet but I’ll be on the road this week/weekend for a horse show, so I plan to use at least one pack and see how they are.  I’ll post a separate review for those if I feel they warrant one.

The Pout Beauty Pouty Pop Crayon in Rose Romance, was originally listed as a full size product in my September Ipsy Bag Opening post but it’s actually not.  Really close though, it contains just under the amount of a regular tube of lipstick at .1 oz.  I was so excited to get this since I hear about this brand all the time, but I hated it!  It was so drying, I didn’t even re-apply, I just slathered on some chapstick instead.  If I use a shiny lip balm as a base, this still works.  The balm converts it into a creamy lipstick and the pigment transfers well onto the balm without making it look sheer.  I really like the color so I’ll keep using it with balm.

NYX Eyeshadow in Golden Poppy has been coming in handy as a warm highlighting color on my brow and inner corner.  This shadow is not nearly as pigmented as those I normally prefer, even with my MAC Paint Pot, which is why I have been using it to highlight.  It is the perfect shade for a warm autumn shadow scheme.  It does last all day, so I’m glad I have it, it’s not a color I would have picked out to purchase (I like cool shades) but it has opened me up to checking out new colors.

Star Looks Kohl Eye Pencil in Obsidian is the winner in this bag.  My first swatch in my bag opening video made me think this was going to be super dry and skin tugging.  It must have had a coating on it or something because when I went to use it on my eyes, it went on so super smooth and soft.  It didn’t pull my skin at all and I was able to get a super precise line with it.  It is the perfect consistency.  I’ve actually been reaching for this on my black liner days and leaving the Urban Decay liner in my drawer!  It lasts all day with no transferring or migrating but it doesn’t require elbow grease to take it off.  The only downside is that I have a ton of black liners already.  But, doesn’t everyone?

Em by Michelle Phan, the Life Palette, Career Life sample card was just ok.  The blush was very nice, super pigmented and lasted all day.  The eyeshadow was decent but not anything special.  Many people are really into this new line, but I didn’t really see anything in these products that made me want to run to get them.  I think maybe the excitement is more because of the creator than the actual product.

I am so in love with this Ipsy Glam Bag subscription.  I get to try so many things I would never buy for myself and I end up loving them and creating new looks with them.  I love getting to try new lines and products that are hard to find as well as some of my favorites.  Yay Ipsy!

If you’d like to know more about what Ipsy is, you can read my first post on it here and if you want to give it a try, you can use my referral link here.

You might also like:

September Ipsy Bag Opening

September Rocksbox Opening

 

