Tags

, ,

Ipsy is a subscription service where you take a survey and pay $10 per month to receive a makeup bag filled with personalized makeup selections based on your survey answers.  Each bag contains at least two full sized items plus deluxe samples and most bags are valued at around $50.  Each month, the contents are different and the cute makeup bag has a different theme.  This month’s theme is “Classic Beauty.”  Oh, and you also get a big discount on all of the brands that were included in ANY of the Ipsy bags for the month, even if the sample wasn’t in your own bag.  Discounts are usually between 20-50% off plus free shipping.

DSC00050This month’s Classic Beauty bag is blue with a black floral design.  The card beside the bag shows all the brands that subscribers may have received in this month’s bag and the discounts available if you choose to purchase anything from them.

On to the products!  Here is a list of what I got along with a photo.

  1. Skyn Iceland Hydro Cool Firming Eye Gels (two packs)
  2. Pout Beauty Pouty Pop Crayon in Rose Romance (full size)
  3. NYX Eyeshadow in Golden Poppy (full size)
  4. Elizabeth Mott It’s So Big Mascara
  5. Star Looks Kohl Eye Pencil in Obsidian (full size)
  6. Em by Michelle Phan, The Life Palette in Career Life (extra sample card)

DSC00051

The Skyn Iceland eye gels are really neat, I plan to take these with when I travel since I usually don’t get enough sleep and might need these then!

The Pout Crayon is a really pretty bright neutral pink and is a color I would have purchased if I had seen it.  I’m excited to try this brand, I’ve heard good things about it.

The NYX eyeshadow is another item I am excited to try.  I love their lipsticks and recently purchased a palette from this brand but haven’t had the opportunity to try it yet.  I actually needed a golden yellow shadow, so this will work perfectly.

I don’t plan to try the mascara.  I almost always lose a ton of lashes when I try new mascara and I’m happy with my go-to, so I don’t see any reason to keep trying new ones and losing lashes.  I did mark on my survey that I like mascara, so I’ll have to go back in and change that so they don’t send me more.

The Star Looks eye pencil was sort of dry when I swatched it, so I’m not so sure that I’ll like that product, plus I have a ton of black eye liners.  I like to use a tiny wedge brush and black shadow instead.  I just find that easier to apply.

The Em by Michelle Phan item was a bonus that isn’t really considered part of my bag.  It’s just an advertisement card with a small portion of three shadows and a blush.  Nice extra little tidbit.

All in all, I’m loving my subscription.  It is easy to cancel via the website but I don’t plan to do so unless the bags start to drastically change.  This service has a great track record and although there is usually a waiting list to start getting the bags, it isn’t a very long wait.  If you’d like, you can use my referral code to subscribe.

And on a side note, I have started a youtube channel by request, so for my first video, I filmed the opening of this month’s Ipsy bag!  Check out the video and subscribe if you like it.  Also comment to let me know what other videos you would like to see!

