Tags

, , , , , , , ,

TokyoMilkDarkLipElixerWhat it is: a unique collection of conditioning lip balms that boast high flavor and fragrance payoff.

I purchased Absinthe-notes of anise, mineral salt, citrus peel and crushed herbs, and Clove Cigarette-notes of crushed clove, lavender rose, saigon cinnamon and vanilla bean.  They are also available in Salted Caramel, La Vie En Rose, Coco Noir, Cherry Bourbon and Smoked Salt.

I was expecting something truly brilliant with these.   I couldn’t imagine anything better than the flavors described and I haven’t seen anything similar in any other lip balm collections to date.  These come in a tin, which was easy to open but is very thin, so it has the potential to easily dent and lock closed.  The smell is strong, wonderful and as expected based on the description.  The consistency is waxy and thick (petroleum based) and there is no visible evidence of anything being on my lips.  I didn’t mind the texture, it stayed on well and wasn’t sticky, but I felt that it really created a super thick barrier on my lips.  There was absolutely no flavor at all whatsoever.  It just tasted like I put wax on my lips.  After using for several nights, I didn’t notice any significant improvement in my lips, but I did notice them starting to feel tight and shriveled along the outer edges.  I plan to use this ever so often just because I love the smell, but not when my lips are in need of nourishment.

Pros: Unique, Smells Amazing, Large Container

Cons: No Flavor, Not Nourishing

Cost: $7 for .7 oz.

Available at: Tokyo Milk and Sephora

