Tags

, , ,

venomLast month, Urban Decay launched a set of 22 lip colors in their new Revolution Lipstick line.  The claim is that this will provide maximum color payoff while feeling creamy and plumping lips.

I purchased the shade Venom, which is sort of dark, so I’ve been trying to wait to review it until closer to fall.  Although it’s a little early, I went for it today.  This lipstick is round at the top, rather than having a pointed corner, so it was a little difficult for me to apply since I have a fairly deep cupid’s bow.  I did manage it ok with a little touch-up but I think a brush would come in handy for me with this.

The pigmentation is crazy opaque, one light swipe completely covers so make sure you are careful when applying or you will be doing some clean-up.  It adheres to lips really well, so it can be a little tricky to apply until you get used to it.  This means it lasts really well though.  I didn’t notice any movement or migration at all throughout the day even though it does get very slightly feathery upon application.  It makes my lips feel like juicy little pillows.  It is very moisturizing and smooth, not sticky at all.  It does feel a bit tacky when I purse my lips, but in a good way, unlike gloss and not unpleasant at all (I despise sticky lipstick).  I didn’t notice any actual plumping going on, but it definitely makes my lips look and feel healthy, supple and youthful.  The finish is creamy satin, midway between matte and shiny.  There is no flavor and this did not transfer onto my teeth at all.  I do recommend using a liner with the darker shades to make them easier to apply and to create a super sharp line since they are so pigmented and have so much color-staying power.

I’ve picked out four more colors I’d like to get, along with their matching liners.  I am very happy with this and it’s a total win in my book.  Photo is on bare lips with no liner or primer.

UD Revolution Venom2

 

Pros: Very Opaque, Highly Pigmented, Moisturizing, Non-Sticky, Long-Lasting, Lush Feeling

Cons: Does Better with Liner

Cost: $22

Available at: Urban Decay, Sephora

You might also like:

New Lipstick Queen Hello Sailor Lipstick Review

Kat Von D Foiled Love Lipstick Review in Valentine

Urban Decay Naked Skin Foundation Review

